Burglary Is A Serious Charge
With the increasing occurrences of burglaries and bank jugging in the news, the Houston Police Department and the Harris County Sheriff’s Office have become vigilant in their pursuit of suspected burglars. If you or a loved one was accused of a burglary-related criminal offense in Houston, the penalties can be dire if the incident results in a conviction.
Attorney Paul Morgan defends individuals accused of such offenses and provides high-quality representation. If you’re in need of legal advice for a burglary case, you’re encouraged to call the law office immediately at 713-969-5007.
The Definition Of Burglary & Texas Law
In Texas, burglary and criminal trespass are similar crimes, however, there are differences. To be charged with burglary, a prosecutor must prove that the defendant entered private property with the intent to commit assault, theft, or a felony; this, of course, must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt.
A person can also be charged with the offense if they enter a car that isn’t theirs or if they break into a coin-operated machine. Defendants can be found guilty of burglary even if they don’t complete the act. In the event that the case goes to a jury, the burden on the prosecution is to prove criminal intent.
If it can be proven that the defendant went into someone’s property without the owner’s consent, and there was notice the defendant was on private property yet failed to leave, the defendant might be charged with criminal trespass instead of burglary.
Charged With Burglary?
The difference between burglary and criminal trespass is intent. If you’re looking for a smart, aggressive burglary lawyer with a deep understanding of the law, call the Paul Morgan Law Office, PLLC, at 713-969-5007 to schedule your case review, free of charge.
Criminal Penalties For Burglary
Depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged burglary, a defendant can face a criminal classification that varies in severity.
State Jail Felony
A person charged with burglary may have their offense classified as a State Jail Felony if the incident took place in a building other than a habitation (a home).
A person convicted of a State Jail Felony could be sentenced to a term of six months to two years’ state jail, and be responsible for paying a fine of up to $10,000.
A person may be charged with Second-Degree Felony if the burglary took place in a home.
A Second-Degree Felony carries penalties that include a potential prison term of two to 20 years in addition to a fine of up to $10,000.
Finally, a person charged with burglary may have their case classified as a first-degree felony if the offense took place in a home with the intent (or attempted) to commit a felony other than theft.
If convicted of a first-degree felony charge, it can mean a prison sentence that ranges from five years to life in prison, plus an additional fine.
Although burglary-related offenses are harshly prosecuted, Attorney Paul Morgan may be able to help you knock it down to a criminal trespass charge or beat the burglary charge entirely.
To contact the Paul Morgan Law Office, PLLC, call the law firm directly at 713-969-5007. Schedule an appointment to meet with Paul and have your case reviewed as soon as possible.