Accused Of Running Over Someone And Leaving?
Texas law requires individuals to take responsibility for any type of accident involving their vehicles and another person, vehicle, building or fixture.
You must stop, return to the scene, render aid if needed, provide personal contact information, and produce your driver’s license. Otherwise, a crime has been committed.
Not stopping and providing your contact information after an auto accident is a felony per Texas law.
If you’ve received a letter from the police stating that you’re wanted for questioning in a hit-and-run accident, or a criminal citation related to such, you’ll need to retain an attorney immediately.
Attorney Paul Morgan is well aware of the best strategies for fighting such allegations. Our office can be reached at 713-364-0209. All conversations are 100% confidential and protected by law.
Hit-And-Run Offenses And Texas Law
FSRA & FSGI
While there’s no specific criminal charge for a “Hit-and-Run” offense in Texas, there are criminal penalties for FSRA & FSGI, “Failure to Stop and Render Aid” and “Failure to Stop and Give Information,” respectively.
Your duties as a driver when your vehicle damages something or injures someone are found in The Texas Transportation Code, Title 7, § 550. Requirements are clearly defined for accidents involving only property damage and for accidents involving personal injury or death.
Whether the accident is minor or major, Texas law requires you to acknowledge that you caused the damage. You can cause vehicular property damage in a variety of ways. These ways include hitting an unoccupied car, a fixture (i.e., a lamppost), a tree or shrubbery. If you do this and you leave the accident scene without leaving your information, you can be charged with a Class C, B or A misdemeanor, depending on the amount of damage done.
Criminal Penalties For Hit-And-Run Offenses
Misdemeanor FSGI Cases
If only property damage is involved in a hit-and-run linked to you, you will be charged with a criminal misdemeanor (C, B or A, depending on the amount of damage) and hit with large fines. A Class A misdemeanor convictions carry possible jail time of up to one year.
A hit-and-run in which a person was injured, but not seriously, is punishable by (i) a fine not to exceed $5,000, (ii) confinement of not more than one year in county jail, or (iii) not more than five years in the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
Felony FSRA Cases
A hit-and-run causing serious injury or death is a third-degree felony. It’s punishable by two to 10 years TDCJ and fine up to $10,000. If you failed to stop and render aid, and the person died, you could be charged with a second-degree felony. Second-degree felony offenses are punishable by a two to 20 years’ prison sentence and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Accused Of A Hit-And-Run In Houston? Secure Legal Representation Immediately
Don’t play with your life. Contact attorney Paul Morgan of Paul Morgan Law Office, PLLC, online or at 713-364-0209 if you’re being accused of leaving the scene of an accident in Houston.
You can trust Texas criminal law attorney Paul Morgan to be straight with you, guide you through a complex process, and possibly help you avoid a criminal conviction.
All consultations are 100% confidential, protected by law, and our initial meeting is free.